Looking for Alaska by John Green

This is Green’s first book published in 2005, yet it is his fourth novel I read. Previously I read The Fault in Our Stars (The winner of YA Fiction on 2012 Goodreads Choice Award),Will Grayson, Will Grayson (A collaboration novel with David Levithan), and Let It Snow (Heartwarming winter stories, written by him, Maureen Johnson, and Lauren Myracle). Yet, so far, Looking for Alaska is his only one book I rated 5 stars in Goodreads. I am a little too attached to this one and I must admit, this one’s my favorite! Even though I’ve finished reading it a few hours ago, I feel like I am still wandering around Culver Creek, visiting Dorm 43 and Smoking Hole and McInedible, and looking through the Eagle’s Look of Doom. Sorry. Too many spoilers.

Miles “Pudge” Halter moved from his minor life in Florida to Alabama and started to attend Culver Creek. Pudge was also in a quest, hoped that he might have found what Francois Rabelais called as “The Great Perhaps”. Pudge read biographies and remembered most important people’s famous last words. In Culver Creek, he befriended with Chip “The Colonel” Martin and the hottest, cleverest, and most attractive girl he ever met in his life, Alaska Young. Don’t forget to mention Takumi and Lara, his partners-in-crime in carrying out world’s hilarious pranks ever. However, after all the moments he had shared with Alaska, Pudge thought that he knew her better than others.

Yet, he didn’t.

So when Alaska suddenly disappeared, Pudge was devastated and screwed up, so did The Colonel, Takumi, and Lara. They were left with a bunch of theories and they tried to put the pieces together. Simon Bolivar’s last words were, “How will I ever get out of this labyrinth?” and they were on their way to get out.

I always enjoy reading the books with first person point of view. It makes me as if I am the character and the center of the story. And it happened when I read Looking for Alaska. Also, I must say all of Green’s books have philosophical lessons. I mean, like this one, Looking for Alaska is full with the questions and wonders about afterlife. Does afterlife really exist? Or people just cannot bear the idea of not existing? It also reminded us of death. That now we are all assembled with our parts, we breath, we live, but sooner or later our body will return to dust, lying underneath the ground, forgotten, because like what Pudge said, memories fall apart, too.

I should say, this book is recommended to everyone who loves reading YA novels, but couldn’t bear the cheesy and corny stuff like I-can’t live-without-you love stories. No. I guarantee you it is more than just a YA book.

There were so many of us who would have to live with things done and things left undone. Things that did not go right, things that seemed okay at the time because we could not see the future. If only we could see the endless string of consequences that result from our smallest actions.
But we can’t know better until knowing better is useless.
Featured image from here.
Leave a Reply

